DOE says the selected SPARK applications are expected to reconductor or rebuild more than 1,500 miles of transmission lines and deploy Grid-Enhancing Technologies across nearly 21,000 miles in 26 states.
Published by Allstream Insiders
Allstream Insiders Summary
The U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Electricity announced its intention to help fund 31 selected grid-improvement projects across 26 states through the Speed to Power through Accelerated Reconductoring and other Key Advanced Transmission Technology Upgrades initiative, known as SPARK.
DOE described a combined $5.25 billion package comprising $1.9 billion in federal funding and $3.35 billion in recipient cost-share funding. According to the department, recipients are expected to reconductor or rebuild more than 1,500 miles of transmission lines and deploy Grid-Enhancing Technologies, or GETs, across nearly 21,000 miles. DOE said the combined work would make more than 23 gigawatts of additional electricity capacity available.
The September 24, 2026, announcement identifies selected applications and DOE’s intention to help fund them. DOE’s separately linked Selected Applications document identifies each prime applicant, project title, prime location, requested federal funding, total project value and a high-level narrative. The document says those details are derived from application materials and are subject to change pending finalization of formal financial-assistance agreements. It does not provide a uniform project-by-project construction schedule or capacity metric.
What DOE announced under the SPARK initiative
DOE positioned SPARK as a transmission-modernization program focused on increasing the capability of existing infrastructure. The selected applications are expected to combine reconductoring—replacing existing lines with higher-capacity conductors—with other Advanced Transmission Technologies, or ATTs.
The aggregate program scope disclosed by DOE is:
| Program measure | DOE-reported figure |
|---|---|
| Selected grid-improvement projects | 31 |
| Geographic reach | 26 states |
| Total funding package | $5.25 billion |
| Federal funding announced by DOE | $1.9 billion |
| Recipient cost-share funding | $3.35 billion |
| Transmission lines to be reconductored or rebuilt | More than 1,500 miles |
| GET deployment coverage | Nearly 21,000 miles |
| Additional electricity capacity expected | More than 23 GW |
These figures describe the portfolio as a whole and should not be attributed to any one project. DOE’s selected-applications document provides project-level funding requests and total project values separately, but not every application supplies comparable mileage or capacity metrics.
How the selected projects would expand transmission capacity
The SPARK approach emphasizes upgrades within existing transmission corridors rather than relying exclusively on new corridors. DOE said the selected projects are intended to maximize existing rights-of-way and address congestion bottlenecks through higher-capacity conductors and other transmission technologies.
The individual project summaries identify several types of proposed technologies, including advanced conductors, dynamic line-rating systems, monitoring and control systems, grid-stabilization devices and transmission-operations software. They do not identify a fully detailed equipment list or procurement package for every selection.
DOE also associated the selections with grid-resilience objectives, including mitigating wildfire hazards, preventing blackouts and protecting infrastructure against severe weather. Those are stated program objectives, not reported outcomes from completed construction.
Funding and project status remain contingent
The department’s wording is material to the status of the program: the Office of Electricity announced an intention to help fund the 31 selected applications. DOE’s Selected Applications document states that its project details are subject to change pending formal financial-assistance agreements. The available materials do not confirm executed funding agreements, construction starts or completed upgrades.
DOE’s materials identify prime applicants and provide requested federal funding and total project values for individual selections. The disclosures do not necessarily establish the legal owner of every affected asset, and they do not provide uniform start or completion dates. DOE’s SPARK program page listed expected award dates from October 2026 through January 2027.
SPARK is funded through DOE’s Grid Resilience and Innovation Partnerships program. DOE said industry feedback collected through a separate Speed to Power request for information helped inform the design of the SPARK funding opportunity.
Allstream analysis: What the portfolio signals for grid delivery
Allstream analysis: The most consequential feature of the SPARK announcement is its concentration on increasing capacity from existing transmission infrastructure. Reconductoring more than 1,500 miles and deploying GETs across nearly 21,000 miles represent different categories of work, and the aggregate announcement does not show how those scopes are divided among the 31 selections.
For engineering, equipment and construction markets, the announcement identifies a sizable prospective program but does not disclose procurement packages, contractor selections or bid schedules. It therefore should not be interpreted as evidence of a specific contractor opportunity or award. Commercial visibility will depend on finalized financial-assistance agreements, more detailed project scopes and future procurement disclosures.








