DOE says the award announcement completes its stated 172-million-barrel Strategic Petroleum Reserve release commitment, while Big Hill and Bryan Mound will supply crude under the newly awarded exchanges.
Published by Allstream Insiders
Allstream Insiders Summary
The U.S. Department of Energy announced on October 29, 2026, that it had awarded contracts for an exchange of more than 40 million barrels of crude oil from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve, including volumes offered through previous solicitations.
DOE said the crude under the awarded contracts will be supplied from the Big Hill and Bryan Mound storage sites. The department did not name the award recipients, disclose contract values, identify site-by-site volume allocations, or provide exact delivery dates.
This update supersedes the September 29 solicitation-stage status. The October 6 bid deadline has passed, and DOE has moved from requesting proposals to announcing awards. The department said the awards complete its stated 172-million-barrel U.S. release commitment, part of a coordinated 400-million-barrel action by International Energy Agency member nations.
What DOE awarded
DOE characterized the October 29 action as awards for an exchange of more than 40 million barrels, including volumes offered through previous solicitations. The department did not state how much of the total is attributable to any one solicitation or awardee.
| Award detail | DOE disclosure |
|---|---|
| Crude volume awarded | More than 40 million barrels |
| Supply sites | Big Hill and Bryan Mound |
| Award recipients | Not identified in the announcement |
| Site-level allocations | Not disclosed |
| Contract values | Not disclosed |
| Exact delivery schedule | Not disclosed in the award announcement |
The September solicitation stated that deliveries under awarded exchanges were scheduled for November and December 2026. DOE’s October 29 award announcement did not provide a revised delivery schedule, so the original window should be treated as the earlier solicitation timetable rather than a confirmed delivery record.
How the exchange structure affects SPR inventory
Under DOE’s exchange structure, participating companies receive SPR crude and later return the borrowed volume with additional premium barrels. DOE said the broader series of exchanges has secured the return of more than 216 million barrels to the reserve beginning early next year, including 44 million additional premium barrels.
Those return figures apply to DOE’s broader exchange program and should not be treated as the premium requirement for an individual awardee or the more-than-40-million-barrel awards announced October 29.
What is known about Big Hill and Bryan Mound
DOE identified Big Hill and Bryan Mound as the physical supply sites for crude under the awarded contracts. The department said it will coordinate with awardees, pipelines, terminals, and refining partners to support safe and efficient movement of the crude.
The announcement does not name the pipelines, terminals, refineries, vessels, inspection providers, or other logistics firms involved. It also does not establish new construction work or supplier awards at either storage site.
Allstream analysis: Awards are confirmed, but commercial details remain limited
Allstream analysis: The important change is that the SPR action is no longer merely a request for proposals. DOE has announced awards for more than 40 million barrels and identified Big Hill and Bryan Mound as the supply sites.
For infrastructure and refining-market participants, the next decision-useful details would be named awardees, allocated volumes, withdrawal and delivery schedules, and the transportation and terminal arrangements used to move the crude. Until DOE or participating companies disclose those details, the announcement should not be read as evidence of new pipeline, terminal, marine, or service-contract awards.








